Don’t pelt me with olives…

I would like to go on the record and say that 90’s grunge music was/is annoying. Alice in Chains, Stone Temple Pilots, Soundgarden, Nirvana, Pearl Jam… Annoying.   I realize they inspired and open doors for other artists… But I can not listen to that sound.  I have the same feeling towards most classic rock.  I go out of my mind when people want to play Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, the Moody blues… That sort of thing.  

I know, I know… How can I say I love music if I don’t love the classics or have an admiration for grunge rock?? I can not tell you how many times I’ve been on a date on the subject of music comes up and I cringe. Lately… Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd is always brought up. Nirvana is brought up frequently. I usually let them talk about it for five minutes… Then I let them know that I am not a fan of either of those bands. They look at me like I’m crazy… Sometimes they even say ” how can you not like those bands?”  So now when the subject matter comes up and they List any of those bands… I fake a phone call or a reason to leave.  You may say .. “That’s a bit harsh”.    I say… If you are on a road trip with someone.. You should not want to jump out of the moving vehicle if they start playing  “their” playlist.  

So that’s where I’m at. 

Leave a Reply

